10 ppm PO4 - need help

Saltyxxx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, you read that right. I've been struggling with po4 issues for a while now, and recently I have realised that my test kit might be malfunctioning - now I think that my po4 is way, way higher than what I believed it to be, and I am at a loss of what to do.

I keep a 100 gallon 3 ft saltwater tank, and though I mainly keep a fowlr system, I have been trying for a while to grow corals, starting with frags of the easy beginner soft corals. However, it has been a recurring trend that corals I add into my tank will grow quickly at first, then their growth will stall and some eventually just give up and die altogether. I've chalked it up to my lack of experience / skills since I am still a beginner to this hobby, but eventually I did get to a point in the last 6 months where my corals could grow quite happily and my zoas were multiplying like crazy, and so I thought I was doing better in this department.

However, over the last month all the soft corals in my system have been exhibiting signs of stress - polyps not fully opened and not growing well, and all of my zoas have this distinctive umbrella-shaped appearance that I know is a sign of stress but am unsure of how to troubleshoot. I'm currently having issues with green film algae in my tank, but I clean the rockscape and glass regularly, especially near the corals, to keep them free of overgrowth. I used to have issues with green hair algae, diatoms and cyano, but they have all cleared up over time and now my tank is free of them. I have 8 fish in my system - 2 clownfish, 2 wrasses, a tailspot blenny, a firefish, a royal gramma and a coral beauty. I also have a bunch of nassarius snails on cleanup. I feed 2x frozen food and 1x pellet each day, and I don't feed anything more than what my fish won't eat after 30 seconds.