$100 OFF - The ReefBot automated water testing device is NOW available for purchase!

puffy127

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
942
Reaction score
800
Thanks, but I don't think the Giesemann Phosphate row is accurate. It uses 120 ml of reagent 2 per test? Maybe you missed a decimal. Also, it is not accurate to say that it lasts 46 tests before refilling chemicals if you can't even run 1 test with 1 brand new kit. You should state what the assumptions are for that column (is it based on filling each reagent vial to 20 ml and if so, how many test kits are needed to do that?) What is the min volume of reagents needed to run 1 test? Is the number of tests before refilling column calculated based on that min volume or calculated based off of an empty vial?
 

Dj City

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,492
Reaction score
1,097
My Reefbot arrives today according to DHL.

It's funny how something can come all the way from Lebanon and get to me faster than a shipment from Minnesota.

Thanks Reef Kinetics!
 

Dj City

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,492
Reaction score
1,097
Question...

Can I set this up on my frag tank to test and the move it to my main tank when that build is complete?
Is this something I can do without having to change a whole lot?
 

marlinmon

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
632
Reaction score
626
Have y’all thought about a way to communicate test results to apex?
 

MikeO5422

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
225
Reaction score
152
Hi, I thought I read there was an API for this device. Could RK elaborate on that? (I mean the programming interface not the test kit company :))
 

Dj City

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,492
Reaction score
1,097
Im having a problem.
I can't login to the support page on the app.
I even tried to reset my password but it won't let me.
I get this...
Screenshot_20190309-084205_ReefKinetics.jpg


I go to support, click on user manual and click on "here" but nothing happens. Nothing opens.
 

rushbattle

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 19, 2016
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
1,431
Location
WNC
Hi, I thought I read there was an API for this device. Could RK elaborate on that? (I mean the programming interface not the test kit company :))
It’s planned, but not released. That would be how Neptune folks can get data as well. They probably won’t support it seeing as how they are struggling to bring to market a (kinda) competing device.
 

CyberGuy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
115
Reaction score
95
Location
San Diego, CA
O.K. I just placed the order for the ReefBot.

However, after I made the ordered, I suddenly had a thought.

So what would happen if a copepod or other small debris goes into the tank line? Since this thing is automatic, the user would not manually draw the tank water and would not be able to see if there is some debris inside the sample tank water.

If there is debris in the sample tank water, would this throw off the accuracy of the test?

Also, how do you unclog or clean the line if there is debris stuck at any point within that line (especially at the area inside the machine, not at the area of the outside line that you can remove/unplug)?
 

Dj City

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,492
Reaction score
1,097
O.K. I just placed the order for the ReefBot.

However, after I made the ordered, I suddenly had a thought.

So what would happen if a copepod or other small debris goes into the tank line? Since this thing is automatic, the user would not manually draw the tank water and would not be able to see if there is some debris inside the sample tank water.

If there is debris in the sample tank water, would this throw off the accuracy of the test?

Also, how do you unclog or clean the line if there is debris stuck at any point within that line?
The lines are only 3m long and very small id.
 

CyberGuy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
115
Reaction score
95
Location
San Diego, CA
The lines are only 3m long and very small id.
That still does not answer the question of what happens if tiny copepods/tiny debris make their way into the "very small id" tubing.

Even with manual testing, you have to make sure there are no smudges/fingerprints on the vial to have accurate reading.
 

Which tank do you think is more functional for a family? (click to see photos)

  • A. Fireplace Tank

    Votes: 47 22.2%
  • B. Stair Tank

    Votes: 13 6.1%
  • C. Bed Tank

    Votes: 7 3.3%
  • D. Table Tank

    Votes: 24 11.3%
  • E. Cabinet Tank

    Votes: 121 57.1%

Online statistics

Members online
1,932
Guests online
4,662
Total visitors
6,594
Underwater Creations, Inc.
Boom Corals
Top