120 Xhigh Build

TroyClark

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am finishing my basement and plan to do an in wall 120 xhigh (60x18x26). The location is right by a floor drain and water supply. I have an RO/DI unit and will be making my own water. I have 80 lbs of aragonite sand (30 lbs in an already set up 35 hex), about 70 lbs of dead rock (30 lbs in the same hex, starting to get red and purple coralline algae). I am planning on using an eheim pro 4-350 canister that is running the 35 hex and a couple of aquaclear 110 power filters I have laying around. I have a 1000 watt heater on a Ranco controller. I have never done a sump before but understand they are recommended. My 120 is not drilled nor do I want to risk drilling it. I have led lighting.

I have plenty of extra tanks laying around (55's, 29's, 40's etc. to use as a sump if I decide to go that route). What would be the recommendations from some of the more experienced reefers? Is a hangon tank overflow safe? Do I have to match the overflow with a return pump?

I want some corals, anemones and fish (clowns, tangs, hawk, etc.) A friend has fragged a Kenya tree and a mushroom coral that are growing nicely in my 35 hex.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Troy

DLHDesign

Ex-Noob
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is a hangon tank overflow safe? Do I have to match the overflow with a return pump?
They work, though I feel that they are more of a risk than having a gravity-based return as you get from a drilled tank. This is true any time a pump is involved - you have to ***** what will happen if that pump fails. In the case of a hang-on overflow, if the overflow pump fails, then your return pump could cause your tank to overflow onto your floor. There may be solutions for this risk - I've never had a hang-on overflow, nor really even seen one in action to know it. They are sold, however, so clearly they are an option.