17 hrs shipped fish acclimation

uutank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m fairly new to the hobby just 7 months into hobby. Till now I was getting fishes from lfs, but this time I’ve ordered fish outside of my state and they’ll be shipped to me in 17+hrs.
Do I need to take some special steps to acclimate them, because of the shipping time. When I buy from lfs the fishes don’t get shipped a lot as it’s close to my house so the acclimation is easy and normal.
But do I’ve to take acclimate them differently or just normal drip acclimate?

Jason mack

Monti madness
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would first float the bag to aclimate too temp ... then I would check salinity of water fish was sent in then drip aclimate for salinity.. if your qt ing your fish you can always adjust the salinity of your qt tank too match that of the water the fish was sent in and drop him in straight away and then bring the salinity of tank up slowly ...

eatbreakfast

Fish Nerd
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ideally get a bucket of your tank water and have freshwater on hand to drop the salinity if needed to match the salinity in the bag.

During shipping ammonia in the bag rises. However because the respirated VO2 cannot escape the ph of the water begins to drop. This renders the ammonia non-toxic. But once you open the bag the CO2 escapes, ph rises, and ammonia becomes toxic. So a long acclimation with bag water is dangerous.

That it is why it is beneficial to match the water separately, get the fish out of the transport, and acclimate without the transport water.

pecan2phat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check the bag to see if the fish is in distress, if not then see if your able to float the bag in your sump or display tank for 15 mins to acclimate the temperature.