180 Gallon Stocking Opinions

tony34

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! Looking for opinions/concerns regarding my stocking wishlist for my new 6'x2'x2' 180 bare bottom tank. Plan to do some soft coral to start as I'm new to reef keeping but then gradually move on to an LPS reef.

I plan to stock in the order of appearance with spaces signifying a period of time between the next additions.

1x McCosker's wrasse
1x Scott's greenback fairy wrasse

2x percula clownfish

2x Genicanthus melanospilos(1m,1f)

3x Azure damselfish
1x Sixline wrasse

1x White tail bristletooth tang
1x Yellow tang
1x Powder brown tang

Being so new to the salt side of things I greatly appreciate any tips or insight to this plan of stocking. Thank you!

therootcause

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are insistent on spacing out the stocking, I would add the pair of clowns first then the two wrasses at the same time, then the tangs.

I would skip these altogether and sub for a school of chromis or cardinals.
2x spotbreast angelfish
3x Azure damselfish
1x Sixline wrasse

OP
OP
tony34

tony34

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the reply. Minus the recommened fish would you consider the tank then fully stocked? The genicanthus was probably my fav on the list then powder brown.

therootcause

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the reply. Minus the recommened fish would you consider the tank then fully stocked? The genicanthus was probably my fav on the list then powder brown.

To be honest, SW community is more focused on fish compatibility (temperament, individual fish size and growth within a tank) rather than traditional FW stocking lists as it relates to "what the tank (size) can handle". How many fish your system can handle will depend on your ability to manage and export nutrients.

I have a Waterbox 180.5 with a total water volume of about 240 gallons including the sump and frag tank.