A few fish help questions

adam finley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 35g cube that has been running for about 8 months. I originally had 2 clowns, coral beauty, and a dotty back. Every thing was fine for a couple months until I had what I think was a velvet outbreak. Being a newbie I thought salt from the water was sticking to the fish oops. All my fish looked like they had flour poured all over their body.Well by time I started to realize something else was going on it was to late. They were covered for several weeks before I figured out that it wasnt normal. The only different behavior the fish displayed was the clownfish would occasionally swim into the power head flow. Well they all died within a week of each other. I have gone fallow for 2 months and am ready to start adding fish soon and need help with figuring out how many I can safely add at once, how many fish total I could safely add, and fish suggestions. Ideally I would like to have a total of 4-5 fish. I know for sure I want 2 clowns. The other fish I'm thing about getting are a flame hawk, barnacle blenny, possum or pink streaked wrasse. Any help and suggestions are appreciated thanks

Big G

captain dunsel
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Starry Blenny is a really neat character in a tank. Lubbocks Fairy Wrasse are small and very colorful. How about a sand-sifting goby to do some sand cleaning work for you.

OP
OP
adam finley

adam finley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How many fish do you think I can safely add at once? I have lots of corals and a decent cuc in my tank right now. All my parameters are good except for my nitrates are a little higher around 20 but my corals seem to like it.

Big G

captain dunsel
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nitrates 10-20 are fine. And agree my corals seem to like it too, and my chaeto & sea lettuce, too.