A Pale Blue Dot – My SPS Dominated Reef

Discussion in 'Member Tanks' started by chrishet, Nov 7, 2018.

1. chrishet

chrishet Member R2R Supporter

Hi R2R's, This is my first tank build thread on R2R. I am very excited about getting my newest reef up and running and sharing discussions and images of its progress. I started this build 7 years ago - you heard that right! I had a lot of life changes but now I have the time to rededicate myself and get this thing going finally!

My inspiration for this new tank will be the Cosmos, thus the reference to Carl Sagan’s famous words after seeing a photograph of Earth taken from Voyager I as it left our solar system. As some here may know, I am a photographer and my favorite subjects have been rocket launches and deep space objects. This will be a very interesting project for me as I try to bring into this reef some of the shapes and colors often seen in my deep space photos. It may not turn out this way but it gives me something to work towards, and it should be a lot of fun!

I'll get a complete equipment list going but basically this is a 65 gallon Reef Savvy custom tank - a work of art! I have a custom stand and a lot of custom parts. I have a new interest in 3D printing and have been making a lot of brackets and parts for the tank. I'll be sure to keep the thread update with some of my designs.

Here is the first pic. I just started the cycle, the lights are on just for effect.
    [​IMG]
    I'm looking forward to being a part of this community!

-Chris

Last edited: Nov 7, 2018
    PiggyPuffin, Diamond1, buddy. and 9 others like this.

2. dantimdad

dantimdad Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award R2R Secret Santa Hospitality Award Build Thread Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

Very cool!

Welcome aboard!

pshootr, NY_Caveman, PanchoG and 2 others like this.
  3. Oscaror

Oscaror On A Break R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa