ADA 90P reef build

Fishnugget

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to r2r wanted to post my new saltwater aquarium project. It seems the reef bug has hit me again and I had been mulling over turning my freshwater ADA 90P into saltwater. Its been stored for more than a year and I finally decided to set up an SPS system. A lot of the equipment I already own so I figure it wouldn't hurt my budget too bad.

So, here is my old freshwater set up...going reef now :)
Its got an ADA style stand, 4 bulb ATI powermodule, and AP electronic regulator which I plan to use for Ca Rx

Freshwater
IMG_1643.jpg

Just an FYI, I really have broken the "holes diameter rule" for drilling the tank. I did a lot of research and I found many people drilling holes a lot closer together without any problems. Therefore, I bought some hole-saws and drilled my own holes. It was a little nerve racking to drill an all starphire tank but the results were a success.

ADA aquariums, imo, are one the the best aquariums out there in forms of aesthetic looks. I think the clear silicon is much better than the traditional black silicone most aquarium manufacturers are using. My reason is because clear silicon produces an edge-less/border-less look and it literally looks like you have water box floating. With that said and in trying to keep the aesthetics going, I did not want to have a massive internal overflow box inside the tank. I went with internal because external overflow boxes show all the plumbing, so drilling the back of the tank was not an option. Therefore, I drilled my holes as close together as I could without compromising the integrity of the tank and was very happy with the way it turned out. I can have a small internal overflow box using the Herbie method while hiding everything inside the stand.

and here is what I have so far for my Reef Ready progression...
Note: Overflow pipes not cut to final size

IMAG0157.jpg

IMAG0150.jpg

IMAG0154.jpg