Adding 5280 Pods to tank with fish

Discussion in 'Algae Barn' started by Fringe09, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Fringe09

    Fringe09 Active Member R2R Supporter SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    Hi @AlgaeBarn. First time I added the 5280 Pods, I had no fish. Second order of 5280 Pods will be delivered today. Any specific method of adding them now that I have fish?
     
    Tags:

  2. Killamanjaro

    Killamanjaro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    London UK
    From what I read most reefers add them at night time/lights off to help minimise predation from other fish and give the pods a chance. AlgaeBarn may have a different recommendation for you though.
     
  3. crabs_mcjones

    crabs_mcjones I'm shi-nay! R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    13,141
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Does the same apply if you're adding them to a refugium with chaeto in it?
     
  4. Killamanjaro

    Killamanjaro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    London UK
    I wouldn't think so, I was assuming the op was adding directly to the display tank.
     
    crabs_mcjones likes this.
  5. crabs_mcjones

    crabs_mcjones I'm shi-nay! R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    13,141
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    He may be, my question was more for me lol. I am getting a bunch of pods tomorrow, and i planned on adding them to my fuge :)
     
    DSC reef and Killamanjaro like this.
  6. Fringe09

    Fringe09 Active Member R2R Supporter SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    I'm going to be adding to display tank and to the refugium where I have chaeto.
     
    crabs_mcjones likes this.
  7. Tallison

    Tallison Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    149
    Lights and pumps off for 10 min. I received my order last week and this was the instructions they gave me
     
  8. Fringe09

    Fringe09 Active Member R2R Supporter SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    Thanks
     
    Tallison and crabs_mcjones like this.
  9. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10,620
    Likes Received:
    15,428
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I turn off my return pump for a few minutes to give the pods a chance to get down into the chaeto and not get sucked back up into the display immediately.
     
    crabs_mcjones and Big G like this.
  10. Fringe09

    Fringe09 Active Member R2R Supporter SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    Followed the instructions on the bottle.

    Fed the fish, turned off the lights, MP60s, skimmer, and return pump. Removed the filter socks.

    Added 1/3 of the pods to the refugium and the rest into the DT using a PVC pipe so it goes direct into the sand.

    Left everything off for 20 minutes.

    I’ll put the filter socks back in 24 hours.
     
    Robink and HolisticBear like this.
  11. Crreef

    Crreef Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    70
    I have done this a few times with my tanks. I would trim off the pumps and wait until your lights are off. Then pour them in so you fish don’t eat them.
     
  12. Rip Van Winkle

    Rip Van Winkle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Philippines
    Running a filter sock with Pods in a system would definitely filter a large number of the Pods out of that system. That's pretty much self-defeating.

    Also.... errr, maybe slightly off topic buy can someone tell me why there's 5280 Pods? Does the number 5280 seem familiar to anyone?
     
  13. MBX5

    MBX5 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Its the elevation of Denver (mile high) Algae Barn located in CO
     
    NowGlazeIT and AlgaeBarn like this.
  14. Rip Van Winkle

    Rip Van Winkle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Philippines
    5280 feet in a mile.....
     
    MBX5 likes this.
  15. Katrina71

    Katrina71 Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    4,895
    Likes Received:
    6,363
    Algae Barn says so:)
     
    Firedawg1983 likes this.
  16. Rip Van Winkle

    Rip Van Winkle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Philippines
    LOL. Alright.
     
  17. AlgaeBarn

    AlgaeBarn Active Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Hi,

    Thanks for the question. 5280 Pods is because we grow all of our pods at approx 5280 feet (1 mile) above sea level. This means we do not use natural sea water to grow our pods which could contain unwanted parasites and hitchhikers etc. As for dosing the pods we recommend adding them at night when the lights are off and after the fish have been fed. We recommend turning off all filtration and pumps for 2 hours after adding the pods and removing your filter socks for 24 hours to give the pods time to settle in. Once settled, the pods will stay where they want to be and will not be effected by the pumps etc as copepods are some of the fastest living organisms on earth relative to their size and have evolved and adapted to handle and navigate ocean currents much stronger that what is typically recreated in an aquarium. These instructions are also printed in detail on the back label of every bag. Please let us know if you have any other questions, thank you!

    Lan
     
  18. dede

    dede Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Are pods and algae grown without fish to prevent ich and velvet or would I need to quarantine those items first?
     
  19. AlgaeBarn

    AlgaeBarn Active Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    All of our pods and phyto are grown in their own systems without any fish or other inverts and do not need to be quarantined. Thanks!
     
    dede likes this.
  20. Rip Van Winkle

    Rip Van Winkle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Philippines
    So what is being inferred here is that your pods never ever migrate once they settle in a spot, so basically after they settle (24hrs) it's fine to go back to using filter socks? (because no pods will be caught by the filter socks anyway)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...