When to stop adding pods?

Sophie"s mom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, so I have a 5 month old 90 gallon tank. Fish are a diamond goby, firefish goby, watchman goby, naso tang, foxface, 2 clowns, a good variety CUC , cleaner shrimp, coral beauty, and six line wrasse. All parameters are good. Tank is doing great. I have been adding pods monthly for about 2 months now . So the question is, should I keep adding pods monthly, or should I have enough now to stay in a good population? No more fish will be added. Getting a few corals this weekend.

Surf City Corals

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, so I have a 5 month old 90 gallon tank. Fish are a diamond goby, firefish goby, watchman goby, naso tang, foxface, 2 clowns, a good variety CUC , cleaner shrimp, coral beauty, and six line wrasse. All parameters are good. Tank is doing great. I have been adding pods monthly for about 2 months now . So the question is, should I keep adding pods monthly, or should I have enough now to stay in a good population? No more fish will be added. Getting a few corals this weekend.
You should be able to see the little white specs (pods) if you have a good eye. either on the glass or in the sand when you stir it up depending on the species of pods. Tisbe pods are sand dwelling and my favorite. I typically have a great colony in my tank that remains somewhat visible, but if I don't see as many of those pretty little snowflakes for a period of time then I'll add a supplement of pods and some phytoplankton to feed them. If you set up and cycle a tank well sometimes pods just show up. I was lucky to have them show up without adding them the first time, however, since I now have my beautiful dragonets in my stocked mixed reef tank I look out for their food supply if they start chowing down the pod colony.

SpyC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0