Adding ammonia daily but it’s reading 0 with 5.0 nitrite

Shermie1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I’m new to the game here. I have a 36 gal freshwater tank that has been cycling for a little over a month now. I finally peaked my ammonia and now have a huge spike in nitrite 5 and currently 0 in ammonia although I have been dosing with small amounts of Dr. Tim’s every other day. Even when adding the ammonia and testing within 24 hours it still reads as 0. Should I continue adding ammonia? I don’t want to upset the cycle by stopping but I also don’t want to stall it by adding more (even though it reads 0) Not to mention my nitrites have been stuck for over a week on 5! Nitrates are also high btw. Please help!

OP
OP
S

Shermie1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Stop adding ammonia and dump the whole bottle of bacteria into the tank. Also nitrate test can be interfered by nitrite in a tank.
ok deal I will stop dosing ammonia. I have a bottle of microbe lift nite out 2 - should I add that to the tank? I also have API quick start and stress some (which I added in the beginning when starting the cycle) as well as Aqueon pure bacteria balls. Thank you everyone for your replies. Since I have been at this for over a month - do you think I’m nearly done cycling? Attached a pic of my current products

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    231.7 KB · Views: 15

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ok deal I will stop dosing ammonia. I have a bottle of microbe lift nite out 2 - should I add that to the tank? I also have API quick start and stress some (which I added in the beginning when starting the cycle) as well as Aqueon pure bacteria balls. Thank you everyone for your replies. Since I have been at this for over a month - do you think I’m nearly done cycling? Attached a pic of my current products