CYCLING RED SEA TANK USING RED SEA MATURE STARTER KIT

gabrielquissak32

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi lads I’m new to the hobby. Day 10 of cycling my fishless ( at the moment) tank (88g) using the Red Sea starter kit readings should be as following
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10

My readings are
Ammonia Had a spike couple days ago was at 2. Yesterday was 1.2 and today again Ammonia 1.2
Nitrite 0.2ppm
Nitrate 0ppm
1- Is that to be expected?
Also added first part of CUC today. Local pet store didn’t have much so added 3 strombus snails. Have also ordered online 5 trochus, 3 turbo and 2 nassarius.
2- Is that a good amount or would y’all change anything?
Have also noticed some orange stuff blooming on the sand snails look like they’re eating 3- it is that Algea?
Also ( last question if you made this far what a legend! ) on day 14 they recommend adding 1 fish/25g and I had organised with a guy to get a pair of clownfish. With my parameters should I wait a bit more or should my ammonia have gone down by them and I’ve read clownfish are very hardy so would they be alright?
Thanks for reading it
Cheers reefers

094F799E-B008-40DD-BFA1-7EA3ED04FD86.jpeg

Reef Psychology

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ll try to answer your q’s. I used their method years back and wasn’t really impressed, but it did work.

1. Yes. Looks like you cycled fine. Just keep testing every few days until a month has passed to make sure you don’t get a new spike. At the month point you should see a decrease in nitrates to near 0. At this point it becomes dangerous because if you stay at 0 nitrates and 0 phosphate you might see a cyano/diatom bloom. You should also keep a bottle of Prime just in case there is a sudden ammonia spike.

Cleanup crews are only needed when there is something they can eat. Else they die. The best snail for new tanks are astrea snails. Don’t add any more until you need them.