Advice needed on SPS Montipora Cap water chemistry

jpmazzone

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is almost 8 months old and I did some testing today. I am new to the hobby an this is essentially my first time I've tested for anything other than ammonia and nitrate. I tested because I am keeping SPS corals in a Waterbox 20 tank. Setup is very simple. No skimmer and I only filter for particles and have a small bag of chemipure. My SPS look great in my opinion (see picture of a typical specimen from this morning). However, they do not grow very fast and could probably be a bit more colored up. I do have a PAR meter and they are geting about 200 PAR with a single AI 16HD light. Flow in the tank varies but averages 900 GPH. I tested because I have this idea that if I dose kalkwasser, wonderful things will happen but I want to be sure the tank even needs it. I change out 25% of the water each week and use Instant Ocean reef crystals. Water parameters are as follows:

Specific gravity = 1.026
Alkalinity dKH = Hanna Checker registered 57
Calcium ppm = 513 with a Hanna Checker
Ammonia = 0 ppm with API
Nitrate = 0 ppm with API
Phosphate = .03 with Salifert
Temp 75.5 degrees farenheit

Here is a picture of my moni cap. This has been in the tank for about 4 months and is about 2 inches. When it when in the tank it was about 1 inch.

Grateful if someone can tell me changes I might make to enhance growth and color. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!
IMG_4597.jpg

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had a Hanna Alk meter (755 it think) that measured in ppm, but recently, (accidentally) ordered the other Hanna ALk and measured my dKH as 7.2, which is ok but many people try for about 8, as a target number.

57 DkH doesn't make any sense, on either meter as far as a number for alkalinity. If you have 57 ppm I think that is way low and if it is 57 dKH it is way too high.