Aiptasia Eating Filefish (Acreichthys tomentosus) Breeding

OctoReef12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently picked up an Aiptasia Eating Filefish to combat some Aiptasia. And through a comedy of errors, ended up with a second one as well. My initial thought was take one back to the LFS for a credit, but these two hang out all the time. Quite similarly like my Clownfish hang out. It got me to thinking can these be captive breed from a hobby aquarium. I know they are breed professionally, but I can't find anything online about how this is done or how to garner success. So I'm starting a thread to see what people think, what people have done, or if it's even possible. Likely I will still end up taking one of them back, but in the meantime, it's always good to further educate myself (and others) about our different creatures.

20230304_185646.jpg

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not an expert on this subject but I do recall the answer that someone gave when a similar question was asked by another person who wanted to get their fish to start mating. The first thing is to chop up some raw oysters and then you play some Barry Manilow music softly and dim the lights cause lots of fishes do it at dusk.
I’ve never tried it but I do chop up oysters for my fish and they like that for sure
Anybody else got a better idea about how this is done?
barry manilow february GIF

OP
OP
OctoReef12

OctoReef12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not an expert on this subject but I do recall the answer that someone gave when a similar question was asked by another person who wanted to get their fish to start mating. The first thing is to chop up some raw oysters and then you play some Barry Manilow music softly and dim the lights cause lots of fishes do it at dusk.
I’ve never tried it but I do chop up oysters for my fish and they like that for sure
Anybody else got a better idea about how this is done?