Algae or possibly bacteria growing in my tank, need help

Cody Shockley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys!

I am relatively new to having a salt water reef tank as I have had my tank for 1 year and have been battling to what I thought was algae. My tank was crystal clear for the first 4 months and then it started to get this red hair like substance across my tank. My local fish store told me it was cyanobacteria and helped me get if of it, but now I have this kind of green, slimy film all across my tank that sticks to my rocks and is really hard to scrape off. I spend 3 hours every week scrubbing my rocks and cleaning my tank only for it to grow back again within a few days. My local fish store has told me that it is just another form of cyanobacteria and for me to increase my flow in my tank. So I got these wave makers that pulse and create ripples in my tank and increased my flow to where I don't have dead spots and it is still coming back. At the time I had 0 nitrates and 0 Phosphates and a buddy of mine said it could be due to a lack of chemical imbalance in my tank and i needed to increase my nitrates and phosphates. So I got some N03 booster and a phosphate booster and slowly added it in. I got my phosphates right away at 0.2 PPM and kept it there and could not get any nitrates. I eventually ended up adding in a whole bottle of 102OZ and still got nothing, only to find out that my nitrate tester that I had (API nitrate test kit) was not reading my nitrates at all. I got a HANNA Nitrate checker and it just flashed over 5PPM at me which means that I probably have way more nitrates in my tank than I wanted and now I have this new orange, web like stuff growing in my tank that looks like DINOS. I am needing help so badly as to what I should do because I have been battling this for the last 8 months trying to learn and go to my store and they are no help at all. Every week I manually remove everything from my tank, change out my filter sock