ALK / Ca consumption 'ratio'?

TomSerious

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!
I am quite new to the reefing hobby and started my first reef tank about 3 months ago (done Freshwater for 2 years).

Now I can't seem to find any information (of course every tank is different) on an approximate consumption ratio of Alk and Ca.

My current Values are as following:
Alk 7.6 dKH (would like to increase to 9 dKH over time)
Ca 435 ppm
Mg ~ 1400 ppm

I am using the Hanna Checkers for Ca and Alk, Red Sea for Mg.
Since I work with laboratory equipment, I am confident that I execute the Ca Hanna Test pretty precisely and if I do 2-3 tests back to back, I get pretty much the same results.

I have the tank heavily stocked with coral (LPS and SPS mixed) and everything is growing nicely.
The tank is an Aqua Medic Armatus 300 XD (a bit bigger than a 60 gal cube, I guess)

Now... my Alk consumption seems to be high but reasonable (about 1.6 in 24h)
But i don't understand my Ca... at first it didn't really budge much and now it's, I think at least, pretty high (19 ppm in 24h!)??

The only number/ratio I heard was in some BRS video of "1 Alk and 7 Ca per day" and to that, my "ratio" seems pretty off.

Do these numbers seem reasonable to you?
Or is there something wrong?

Thank you very much in advance!

Regards,
Thomas

chipmunkofdoom2

Always Making Something
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!
I am quite new to the reefing hobby and started my first reef tank about 3 months ago (done Freshwater for 2 years).

Now I can't seem to find any information (of course every tank is different) on an approximate consumption ratio of Alk and Ca.

My current Values are as following:
Alk 7.6 dKH (would like to increase to 9 dKH over time)
Ca 435 ppm
Mg ~ 1400 ppm

I am using the Hanna Checkers for Ca and Alk, Red Sea for Mg.