Am I Underfeeding or Lucky?

Mr.Bigglesworth

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I’m new to the reef tank world and am trying to get to the point where I can start adding corals but I am kinda concerned.

Currently I have a 10g Nano with Reef Breeders Nano running on for 12 hrs. I have one Black Snowflake Clown in here and have passed the Nitrogen Cycle for about 2 weeks now. My current NO3 is about 12-15 ppm. I have pods in the tank and my CuC is a hermit and Nassarous snail which both seem to be doing fine. I’ve had the light’s finally turned on for about a week and haven’t seen any signs of algae yet though, which I’m confused on. I don’t know if I’m lucky (fingers crossed)or if my tanks not able to support any growth (which is more concerning).

I guess my question is - is a week long enough to see algae grow; and if so, should I be concerned that something is going on? Or should I give it another week and see if some algae grows and look back at this post remembering my tanks glory days.

Just looking for some insight - thank you!

IMG_4901.jpeg

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
3 weeks is still relatively early. Your rocks will gradually start taking on different shades as the tank progresses. If your fish are doing just fine I wouldn't sweat it.

And yes, enjoy the "whiteness" of your tank while it lasts!

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just keep what you're doing now- and enjoy! :) There's no avoiding what's coming in terms of 'uglies' in a new tank so no need to worry either. Stay on top of husbandry, that will somewhat minimize the impact and think about what you put in your tank- every time!

What goes around comes around :)

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Its only been one week with lights on, just hold on, its coming.