anampses femininus in bare bottom tank

Reef Pro

Reef Pro Complete --> Reefprostore.com
View Badges
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
470
Location
West Palm Beach
Has anyone kept an anampses femininus or any anampses wrasse for that matter in a bare bottom tank with success...? @evolved
Thanks in advance!
 

evolved

The Wrasse Guy
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
10,555
Reaction score
11,504
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Never got alerted here; sorry. (I see you edited in the tag after posting - that's why, fwiw)

You'd definitely need a sand box - a recipe for a short life without one.
 
OP
Reef Pro

Reef Pro

Reef Pro Complete --> Reefprostore.com
View Badges
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
470
Location
West Palm Beach
Never got alerted here; sorry. (I see you edited in the tag after posting - that's why, fwiw)

You'd definitely need a sand box - a recipe for a short life without one.
What type of sand is ideal for the sandbox method.... I have a lot of flow in my display and any type of fine coarse sand will create a sand storm.... any thoughts ?
 

evolved

The Wrasse Guy
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
10,555
Reaction score
11,504
Location
Phoenix, AZ
What type of sand is ideal for the sandbox method.... I have a lot of flow in my display and any type of fine coarse sand will create a sand storm.... any thoughts ?
It doesn't have to be sugar sand; something in the 2mm range is fine. You should still expect some sand to escape the container however, just from the fish burying. You will have to occasionally siphon out stay sand elsewhere in the tank.
 
OP
Reef Pro

Reef Pro

Reef Pro Complete --> Reefprostore.com
View Badges
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
470
Location
West Palm Beach
would something like natural reef grain size 3.0-5.5 cause a problem... trying to limit the amount of sand leaving the box as much as possible. Also how big of a box would be need for a fish lets say 4" in length?
 

evolved

The Wrasse Guy
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
10,555
Reaction score
11,504
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Yes, that will work.

It just needs to be big enough for the fish to lay in, so in that case something 6" will do. Bear in mind that would need adjustment as the fish grows, though. :)
 
OP
Reef Pro

Reef Pro

Reef Pro Complete --> Reefprostore.com
View Badges
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
470
Location
West Palm Beach
Yes, that will work.

It just needs to be big enough for the fish to lay in, so in that case something 6" will do. Bear in mind that would need adjustment as the fish grows, though. :)
have you seen people do this with long term success or is this something that will stress to fish overtime to the point of death...
 

evolved

The Wrasse Guy
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
10,555
Reaction score
11,504
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I've definitely seen it work long term with Halichoeres; I can't recall with certainty for an instance with an Anampses. But I have no reason to think it wouldn't be okay too - it works fine in a QT tank.
 
Lazys Coral House

How's your tank currently looking?

  • Never better

    Votes: 70 13.4%
  • Pretty good

    Votes: 231 44.3%
  • Just OK

    Votes: 119 22.8%
  • Not great

    Votes: 53 10.2%
  • Prett Bad

    Votes: 21 4.0%
  • Yuck

    Votes: 14 2.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 13 2.5%

Online statistics

Members online
1,978
Guests online
6,017
Total visitors
7,995
Reef Brite the professionals choice
Top