Anyone Running Sump/Refugium without gravity flow?

montethemoster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am new to the hobby and have a 65 gallon sumpless system set up (undrilled tank). I have not run into any problems yet, but would like to setup a system with a refugium/sump area. I want to continue keeping things simple, and wanted to know if anyone is running their refugium simply attached by a couple of pvc connections with gate valves to another tank for a refugium with some type of a mesh filter between that would protect the refugium from fish transfering over, but allow transfer of water obviously, but also smaller creatures such as pods, etc...? I know I would be losing the benefit of surface skimming and efficiency of pumping water directly through reactors...but would appreciate any other input on this idea especially if you have tried such a setup. Thanks.

RefugiumSetup.jpg

JMSKI333

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with balzin nano that looks like a ton of work, if you dont have sump space why dont you just use like a 5 gallon bucket with two return pumps and two drains and call it a day. everyone has room for another 5 gallon bucket. Were you planning of drilling the sides of the tank and making like a hampster trail connecting them?

OP
OP
M

montethemoster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not really trying to minimize the work, I just want a simple design. I would also like to avoid a hang on overflow if at all possible just to minimize potential overflow problems. Yes, basically like you described drill the sides connect two tanks and have a dual display with one tank being a mixed reef and the other being a refugium, and hiding the middle sections.

Last edited:

Steven Pro

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0