Apex programming outlet with 2 inputs

ctyler85

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 6, 2014
Messages
268
Reaction score
70
Location
Lutz, FL
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I am automating my water production. I have w 35gallon garbage cans 1 for salt and 1 for RODI for ATO, I was going to set them up with full switch and a low switch. Now I want it to turn on when the low switch is activated and off when the full switch is activated. Now I know apex doesn't use and statements cause normally I would think

If FULL and LOW OPEN then ON

If FULL and LOW CLOSED then OFF

So is it really as simple as just identifying the low and full?

Like

If LOW OPEN then ON

If FULL CLOSED then off

I know that's not the right syntax but you get the idea
 

n2585722

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
2,115
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have not done this with a Apex but have with both a Archon and Hydros. I would suggest having a float valve in case there is an issue with the full switch as long as your RODI has an ASOV valve. My output also has a maxmum on time set of 4 hours. If the output is on that long it will turn off and send a alert. My cans are only 20 gallons so the amout of time required to fill your tanks from empty will be different. I am sure it is doable with the Apex. Hopefully someone will assist with that.
 

GK3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
1,852
Reaction score
1,339
Location
Cincinnati
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
So I am automating my water production. I have w 35gallon garbage cans 1 for salt and 1 for RODI for ATO, I was going to set them up with full switch and a low switch. Now I want it to turn on when the low switch is activated and off when the full switch is activated. Now I know apex doesn't use and statements cause normally I would think

If FULL and LOW OPEN then ON

If FULL and LOW CLOSED then OFF

So is it really as simple as just identifying the low and full?

Like

If LOW OPEN then ON

If FULL CLOSED then off

I know that's not the right syntax but you get the idea
Yes. Apex runs top to bottom and executes last true statement.

so I would do

fallback off
If low open then on
If full closed then off

the only thing would miss is if your full sensor failed. I’d use two here have one slightly higher then the other. That way you have two operating ones and a backup emergency one.
 

ZombieEngineer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
1,175
Location
Broomfield
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my code for my RODI. I have a few other fill conditions so that my container won't be partially empty when I need to make more saltwater. Use a physical float valve as a safety backup for both. An infinite water supply is something I don't trust to my apex even with a backup float.

Fallback OFF
If LowROD OPEN Then ON
If Output JustMixed = ON Then ON
If Output NSWlowFill = ON Then ON
If Output SumpPump_1 = ON Then ON
If HigROD OPEN Then OFF
Defer 000:30 Then ON
Defer 000:10 Then OFF
 
OP
OP
C

ctyler85

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 6, 2014
Messages
268
Reaction score
70
Location
Lutz, FL
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes. Apex runs top to bottom and executes last true statement.

so I would do

fallback off
If low open then on
If full closed then off

the only thing would miss is if your full sensor failed. I’d use two here have one slightly higher then the other. That way you have two operating ones and a backup emergency one.
So this is how I have it programmed
Fallback OFF
Set OFF
If RoLo OPEN Then ON
If RoHi CLOSED Then OFF
Defer 001:00 Then ON

As soon as the lo switch is closed, it shuts off. Have I done something wrong?
 

Algae invading algae: Have you had unwanted algae in your good macroalgae?

  • I regularly have unwanted algae in my macroalgae.

    Votes: 37 34.9%
  • I occasionally have unwanted algae in my macroalgae.

    Votes: 22 20.8%
  • I rarely have unwanted algae in my macroalgae.

    Votes: 9 8.5%
  • I never have unwanted algae in my macroalgae.

    Votes: 6 5.7%
  • I don’t have macroalgae.

    Votes: 29 27.4%
  • Other.

    Votes: 3 2.8%

New Posts

Back
Top