Aptasia is getting the better of me! Genuinely considering giving up :-(

Emma01

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well....as the title suggests, aptasia has really got me to the edge of giving it up.
I’ve been battling this for about 1+1/2 years.
Aptasia X is no longer ‘working’ in that, I’ve WAY too many aptasia to know where to start. They’re now stinging my SPS corals. ☹
I’m limited to how I can eradicate these as I’ve
30 Litre (8gallon) nano reef, with 5kg of live rock, therefore can not put any large fish in that eat aptasia.

Peppermint shrimp- due to the size of the tank, I thought that one would do the job?; turns out that they hunt aptasia in packs and I’d need a minimum of 3 ? (Please correct me if I’m wrong here, but this is what I’ve read up) I’ve not got a shrimp for this reason, also 3 In a tank this size wouldn’t be fair on the shrimp.
nudibranches are next to impossible to find in the UK !

if anyone has any suggestions to get rid of these please, it would be much appreciated. I’m hoping that I’m wrong about the peppermint shrimp thing, and that I’ll be fine to get 1 or2 to do the job.
Thanks all
Emma xx

hart24601

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The most success I have had is peppermint shrimp. Tried berghia few times over the years but shrimp worked well every system. I don’t know if 1 is enough, I get several but I don’t think you need more than one. I feed the tank very light with them. They will eat aptasia when hungry, just need to make them hungry not feed them until they start eating aptasia.

Never had any eat coral in around 10 years of having them. Doesn’t mean it can’t happen, but didn’t to me.

OP
OP
E

Emma01

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0