Aquascape Critique Needed

Zach W

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, I am waiting for my RedSea 300XL G2 to arrive so I have been playing around with some aquascaping. I am pretty new to this other than looking at a lot of other examples. I made two variations where the only real difference is the front right where option 1 I have a separate island and option 2 does not. I plan on a SPS/LPS mix. Max height is ~11-12” and tank display is 22”. I am trying to achieve lots of hiding spots for fish and also not crowd to much towards the glass for cleaning and some coral on the front sand bed. Please give any critiques or advise, thanks!

Option 1:

Option 2:

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm usually a big fan of islands or breaks in structures, but option 2 is so nicely balanced and I like the 2 little arches you'd be removing.

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aquascape is highly personal so don't listen to me but (I apologize in advance)...
"Feels" like a lot of rock crammed together.

I'd say do whatever you like but keep in mind horizontal mounting areas at whatever heights/depths you think the coral you're planning would do best at.

P.S. I've disassembled and scattered my rocks multiple times just to achieve a more spread out environment (but, again, that's all mostly personal aesthetic preference)

OP
OP
Zach W

Zach W

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aquascape is highly personal so don't listen to me but (I apologize in advance)...
"Feels" like a lot of rock crammed together.

I'd say do whatever you like but keep in mind horizontal mounting areas at whatever heights/depths you think the coral you're planning would do best at.

P.S. I've disassembled and scattered my rocks multiple times just to achieve a more spread out environment (but, again, that's all mostly personal aesthetic preference)