ARE ALL ICP TEST SNAKE OIL AND JUST for numbers nuts ?

hsosa

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good afternoon Reef addicts and Reef degenerates ! Ok guys I have tried Triton and ati icp test I have done 3 test in the last 7 months. In my experience the test have helped me in managing my reefs elemements and I have seen growth and good coloration. I have been lurking on reef sites and there's seems to be a consensus that dosing elements and icp test are not valid and a waste of money. Do you guys agree with this sentiment? I have been reefing since 1997 back in the day there was no such thing as ICp and barely any test kits everything was done by trial and error experience and eye. fast forward to today. now we have ICP test that test all important elements in saltwater. We have come to find out that not all ICP test are the same and in fact the technology to test marine saltwater is not up to par the result is the consumer gets false reading ,bad reading s and start dosing all these elements and ruin their reef. I haven't heard of this happening it may have happened to a a reefer. now im thinking that it is a waste of money and that the technology is not yet there to have consistent ICP test from a reliable company ? am I wrong in this assumption ? are we just throwing our money away on these elements and testing ? I mean some elements like strontium I found out is something that doesn't need to be dosed? but they sell strontium ? is this all just marketing hype and instagram and for people that love to follow numbers? should we just take a step back and forgo icp testing altogether and go back to the late 90s?

flashsmith

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0