are SPS reefs the way do go now??

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven’t bought any LPS in a while - mostly just trade these days - so I wouldn’t know about the prices. I don’t have a lot of patience for ‘fads’ ..... just wait a bit and it’ll change. Go with whatever tank you want. I was recently looking at the few pictures I have of my reef tanks back in 1990; one was a softie tank and it looked really nice. I don’t have life bandwidth (mostly flagging motivation) for another tank right now, but if I did: softies!

DivingTheWorld

Acroholic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't consider acro tanks to be inexpensive, at least not the acros I buy. The reason I went with an acro tank is the difficulty level. I've been keeping reef tanks for almost 40 years and acros are IMO the most difficult, therefor the most rewarding when you can grow them right and get nice colors.

JLynn

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think part of it is that you get a lot more crazy color variants with LPS. Like there are some rainbow SPS, sure, and those ones go for crazy prices. But most SPS are one or two colors. Beautiful, but nothing like say, a rainbow Symphillia. You know? You get a lot more wild colors and patterns on LPS so more of them will go for crazy high prices than SPS, which tend to have more tame coloration.

hart24601

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would say you’re right. Locally there are plenty of sps from people in the hobby, they grow fast and easy to frag. Most of the sps I see are aquacultured. While most lps are wild and grow much slower, although there are exceptions of course. I would suspect lps to keep increasing in price while legacy Ora corals and the such (birdsnests) keep dropping.

oldbob50

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0