Arsenic?

Discussion in 'Triton Applied Reef Bioscience' started by CMO, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. marlinmon

    marlinmon Well-Known Member Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    558
    Can't imagine it came from your RO source. Drinking water standards are <0.01 ppm, I believe. Maybe leaching off a piece of equipment? Or analysis mishap?
     

  2. ChitownReef

    ChitownReef New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Anyone get additional information on this? I got back some ICP test (non-Triton) results recently that showed high levels also. Last time I did an ICP test (a Triton test), my level was zero. However, since that time, I've changed salts from Red Sea Pro to Fritz's Pro. I dose 2 part - two little fishes. I've seen articles online that suggest certain salt mixes can have high levels of arsenic depending on the grade of additives used.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  3. Weevo

    Weevo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    72
    I'm using Fritz too but my sps look great so I'm baffled unless ICP is off
     
  4. ChitownReef

    ChitownReef New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Does high arsenic levels mean sps will struggle and (if so) at what levels? My sps are generally fine also. It seems strange that it would be an ICP issue, since I wasn't using Triton but others were.
     
  5. debees5

    debees5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    75
    I just got my icp test back and it is showing .031ppm arsenic. Last three tests showed 0.
     
  6. debees5

    debees5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    75
    The only change I’ve made is feeding Masstick.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page