Arsenic?

marlinmon

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
632
Reaction score
624
Just had a high arsenic reading as well from ICP-Analysis. 0.055. Have been struggling with acropora for some time and wondering could this be the cause? I have no idea where this could be coming from.
Can't imagine it came from your RO source. Drinking water standards are <0.01 ppm, I believe. Maybe leaching off a piece of equipment? Or analysis mishap?
 

ChitownReef

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago
Anyone get additional information on this? I got back some ICP test (non-Triton) results recently that showed high levels also. Last time I did an ICP test (a Triton test), my level was zero. However, since that time, I've changed salts from Red Sea Pro to Fritz's Pro. I dose 2 part - two little fishes. I've seen articles online that suggest certain salt mixes can have high levels of arsenic depending on the grade of additives used.
 
Last edited:

Weevo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
212
Reaction score
92
I'm using Fritz too but my sps look great so I'm baffled unless ICP is off
 

ChitownReef

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago
I'm using Fritz too but my sps look great so I'm baffled unless ICP is off
Does high arsenic levels mean sps will struggle and (if so) at what levels? My sps are generally fine also. It seems strange that it would be an ICP issue, since I wasn't using Triton but others were.
 

debees5

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
149
Reaction score
83
I just got my icp test back and it is showing .031ppm arsenic. Last three tests showed 0.
 

debees5

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
149
Reaction score
83
The only change I’ve made is feeding Masstick.
 
Underwater Creations, Inc.
Geo's Reef
Top