Auto frozen food feeder

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by ReeferAl, Oct 12, 2017.

1. ReeferAl

ReeferAl Well-Known Member

This is the DIY feeder I've been using for about 10 years. It is designed to feed small amounts of (thawed) frozen food about every 60-90 minutes throughout the day. It has several components:
    1. Mini fridge to keep food chilled as cool as possible.
    2. Container to hold the food, suspended in water.
    3. Stirring motor to turn a propeller before each feeding to suspend the food throughout the container.
    4. Peristaltic dosing pump to send the food from the container to the tank. This also prevents any back-flow into the container. 4a. Flow loop from sump to feeder and back to sump.
    5. Board to control the feed cycle.
    6. Timer to initiate the feed cycle. I do this with the Apex.
    FEEDER.jpg

Tags:

2. ReeferAl

Here are some photos of the working feeder.

controller.jpg doser.jpg food jar.jpg

3. ReeferAl

The controller board is a relay designed for home security systems but I'm sure other boards could also be used. It allows the feeding cycle to be initiated with a low voltage trigger signal and allows the dosing pump ON-time to be adjusted down to about 1 sec. The pump I use spins pretty fast so about 1 sec per feed is plenty. Only a small amount of liquid is added with each feeding so it really doesn't affect salinity. The jar is 1 gallon and is dosed over about 6-7 days. Here's the board I've used very successfully. It is model 6030:

6030.jpg

zachxlutz likes this.
  4. MaddyP

MaddyP 'Til Reefdom Come... R2R Supporter SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

I’ve been searching for an appropriate mini fridge to accomplish this on a smaller scale. It seems technology hasn’t yet miniaturized refridgeration to the proper level.

Love the project, great job!

zachxlutz likes this.
  5. Larry L

Larry L Well-Known Member Partner Member 2018