Basic additives ??

ScubaSteve4Life

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm still beginning my first reef tank and know very little about some of the basic additives I'll need for a successful tank. I don't have much money to spend so I'd like to know some of the most influential or basic additives I could get and have on hand. Could anyone please shed some light on what you think I should invest in first before anything else?

Sm51498

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Calcium and alkalinity and water changes. Food. Activated carbon.
GFO in case of emergency.(mine is over five years old)

I don't really have much to say beyond this except that depending on your goals, you don't even need calcium and alk beyond what your salt provides.

OP
OP
ScubaSteve4Life

ScubaSteve4Life

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok awesome, thanks! Do I have to get specific food for each fish I own or is there just a one fits all type out there?

Sm51498

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Always a good idea to research what an individual species needs but many species will eat a similar diet. I find that in general, one mix is good for most fish and then you can add things like Nori for supplementing vegetarians. There are exceptions to this rule.

Donovan Joannes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't really have much to say beyond this except that depending on your goals, you don't even need calcium and alk beyond what your salt provides.

Calcium and alk have to be replenished if WC cannot cope with the demand. WC frequency and quantity differs from one reefer to others and how fast these basic element depleted depends on what corals are in the tank.

Edit: Back to OP questions, basic additives needed are calcium, alkalinity and magnesium. All these element must be tested and added based on test results.

Last edited:

Reef Ryder

View Badges
Reaction score