Beginner Hobbyist’s Mixed Nano Reef

Rafe

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
-=About Me=-
Hi, my name is Rafe. I am new to the reef keeping hobby and have decided to take the plunge and purchase an aqua one mini reef 120. Unlike some I didn’t have the budget to buy new equipment, so I resorted to buy off gumtree which was a risky move but it worked out in the end.

-=About the Equipment=-
The tank and most equipment I bought for $350 AUD. All the equipment and tank were in good condition and some of the equipment was upgraded as well as the standpipe being pre-modded. After realising later on that the person did not have a skimmer to sell as well. (Even though the normal one is not great.) I had to go and look on gumtree yet again to find a skimmer available in my area. Fortunately I was going on a trip to Sydney from Melbourne by car and was able to find a RLSS R6i for $150 AUD available in Canberra. So a small detour of 300km was made on the way back to Melbourne to pick it up and see some family nearby. Completing the equipment for now at $500 AUD. When I got home I quickly found out that the skimmer would not fit in the sump so with some DIY I moved the first baffle over a couple centimetres and now it fits perfectly in the sump.

-=Tank and Equipment list=-
- Aqua One mini reef 120ltr (Display, Stand, Overflow, Sump and plumbing)
- 2x Sicce Voyager Nano 2000s (Missing one dry side magnet later bought one.)
- Aqua One Moray 2300
- Eheim Jager 150w heater
- Aqua One Mariglo 60cm
- Aqua One Floating Magnetic Aquarium Glass Cleaner Medium
- RLSS R6i internal Skimmer with Waveling dc-4000 pump

-=Test Kits and Dosing=-
- Red Sea Marine Starter Kit
- Dr Tim’s One and Only with Ammonia

-=The Scape=-