Beginnings of coralline algae?

Deep_Six Corals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, it's my first time starting a tank with dry rock. Tank it's about 2.5 months old, stocked with fish, no corals. I haven't rushed the corals because I have other tanks to hold them until i feel like this one is ready, i haven't tested parameters but I'll run an API nitrate test for **** and giggles, i see between 5 and 10 ppm. Salinity is .026. does this look like coralline growth to you? It only grows outside of direct light, does not baste off and i have to scratch it with a fingernail to get it to lighten up. I seeded with snails that have a bunch on Thier shells.
PXL_20221227_025933844.jpg
PXL_20221227_030011745.jpg

OP
OP
Deep_Six Corals

Deep_Six Corals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, I'll keep an eye on and report back here in a few days. I see some of the same on 5he corners of the glass where I can't get too with the scrubber

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll see it on powerheads, equipment and the glass before the rocks most likely

Dbichler

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don’t know what others are seeing but some of it looks like coralline to me. The lighter pink stuff not so sure about but the first pic definitely has some darker spots towards the bottom of the rock that is.

Jekyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The rocks being white still is what makes me know it's not coraline. Coraline comes at the end of the uglies, not the start.

Lionfish hunter

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0