Best food for corals???

DusReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using reef roids for a couple of months now and really haven't noticed much growth. Just wondering what some of y'all are using to promote growth and spread.

Hector,
As you can see by the volume and depth of replies amongst the community, coral feeding and nutrition is a complex topic for discussion with no singular solution. I agree with my salty friends' tank stability is critical for coral (LPS - SPS) growth and coloration. That being said, understanding your import and export ecosystem a bit more can help you know how much to feed when to feed, and how to best feed your corals. In my experience, the key elements are filtration (including the skimmer), lighting (duration and intensity), and water purity.

- If your skimmer is over skimming and pulling out your nutrients, chances are your corals are not getting enough food to grow.
- If your photoperiod isn't long enough (between 10-12hrs), chances are your corals are not digesting enough of the food they are catching.
- If your water is to clean (I know this sounds crazy), chances are your corals are not able to absorb enough NO3/PO4 to grow.

Having been around the reefing block for over 20 years, I've tried my share of foods of all forms and I have to agree with Trido on the use of BenePets Coral Food. I find it to be a complete reef food that benefits the entire ecosystem. Some particles are large enough for my fish to eat and others tiny enough for my corals, shrimp, and bacteria to consume without giving me a spike in PO4. I started off slow spot feeding every other day for a few weeks and now spot and broadcast feed every day with fantastic results.