Best heating options?

cbellm

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Need some options and opinions,

I am downsizing from a 360 gallon (total 500 gal) to a 120 Total (150). I wanted to know my best option for heating the tank. I have an Apex running my heaters. My sump is a trigger 44 so 15 inches seems to be the max length with the cord. Is an inkbird truly redundant and worth it? I have about 6 extra ehiem Jaers sitting round ranging from 100-300w... I was running 4 300W heaters on my old tank. I am interested in going to a titanium heater but want to hear some experiences.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
2 ea JBJ True temps in my 600G / Apex controlled

Biglew11

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would go with a Ranco or an Aqualogic (rebranded Ranco) controller. these are industrial grade controllers. Ive been using my aqualogic for over 10 years now zero problems. my Finex 300 watt heater is around 4 years old. i have these plugged into the apex.

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 on the finnex...

Best titanium heating rod on the market. The one I just replaced was 5 years old. Only replaced it because of age, but it still worked perfectly.

Only downside to heating rods, they need an external heating controller.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wonder how many ti heating/exchange rod manufactures there are.

OP
OP
cbellm

cbellm

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the advice. Has anyone tried out these BRS titanium heaters? The finnex have been out a long time and are pretty tried and true

pdxmonkeyboy

Sticks!! Give me the sticks!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0