Black box over sump

BRS

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
4,622
Reaction score
5,439
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
After the addition of a juv emperor he has taste for lps .
especially fleshy ones such as lobo , meat coral , open brains etc .
I’m thinking of moving the 2 remaining open brains to the sump while they’re still in good health but ..

1) the only free compartment houses cheato with a grow lamp .
I have 3 extra Chinese black boxes I could use to provide enough light .

what’s the min distance from the open brain to the black boxes ?
 
REEFTIDE

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
7,449
Reaction score
11,438
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
I know the black boxes I had needed to be mounted 12" over the water for coverage. Any closer will focus the light which isn't a good thing. Might be best to trade them to some local reefers.
 

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
6,367
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
After the addition of a juv emperor he has taste for lps .
especially fleshy ones such as lobo , meat coral , open brains etc .
I’m thinking of moving the 2 remaining open brains to the sump while they’re still in good health but ..

1) the only free compartment houses cheato with a grow lamp .
I have 3 extra Chinese black boxes I could use to provide enough light .

what’s the min distance from the open brain to the black boxes ?

What is the wattage of the LED's? I think if they are smaller ones, and you dialed them back as far as you can, you can put them closer. Of course, I am no expert with this. How much clearance do you have to work with?
 

Arego

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
675
Reaction score
751
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Macomb
Just turn them way down in the 10% range. I've done this in a pinch before with great success, as you watch the pieces acclimate you can slowly turn it up if it's even necessary to do so.

The boxes I used were SB Reef when I did this for about 4 months.
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
4,622
Reaction score
5,439
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I know the black boxes I had needed to be mounted 12" over the water for coverage. Any closer will focus the light which isn't a good thing. Might be best to trade them to some local reefers.
I got 3 of them them with my latest upgrade .
i personally have never used or liked leds but if they would help save the 2 corals from being eaten I thought I could make them work for now
 
AquaCave Logo Banner
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
4,622
Reaction score
5,439
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
What is the wattage of the LED's? I think if they are smaller ones, and you dialed them back as far as you can, you can put them closer. Of course, I am no expert with this. How much clearance do you have to work with?
Not sure of the wattage . They have 2 dials on each with 2 separate plugs
They are pretty big units .
as for space I’d have to measure from
The top of the sump to the bottom of the dt
I would assume close to 12-14”
The water in the sump being another 4” lower

about 12 water in that section
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
4,622
Reaction score
5,439
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
This is the cheato section I was considering converting to house lps

and 2nd picture is from the top of sump to bottom of dt inside the stand
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    197.6 KB · Views: 10
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    147.2 KB · Views: 12

90's reefer

Fight the Good Fight
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
6,653
Reaction score
11,681
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
NorCal
Just mount them as high as you can and start the power of both dials low.
I run an old BB on my 30g remote fuge and it works well at growing macro algae. Their is a coral on one rock that i did not know was their and its growing well.

Im only.running 50% at 12" and its working well.
 

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
6,367
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
Well, my friend, you know as well as I do that there is no concrete answer. Necessity is the mother of invention. Honestly all I can offer is remove the offending party or take your chances with what you have.

If it was ME, and I was faced with your issue, I would go for it.. dial the lights back as low as possible and turn the whites off completely.

I don't have any angels in my reef tanks for this exact reason. Almost picked up a small Lemon Peel angel today but backed off because I didn't want to have any more corals become snacks.
 
BRS

Peninsula Reef Tanks...

  • I currently have one

    Votes: 60 23.5%
  • I used to have one set up

    Votes: 13 5.1%
  • I would like to try one in the future

    Votes: 128 50.2%
  • No interest

    Votes: 54 21.2%
Copepods
Top