Brand New to Saltwater **Advice wanted*!

KimberlyMary

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I am new to saltwater aquariums and haven’t owned an aquarium all together in years. I live in a rural area and I’m 3 hours from a pet store, a little further from a saltwater aquarium supply, so most of my equipment is ordered online.

I did a little research beforehand but had not stumbled upon here at that point. We went and bought a secondhand 60 gal aquarium and since then had realized a sump would be best but when taking a second look at the tank we seen the label stating not to drill it. I gave up on the sump and ordered a Fluval 306 and a HOB protein skimmer.

I’ve collected much of what we need besides powerheads and a RO/DI system. I don’t want to spend too much more to get started so I definitely don’t want to purchase a new tank and would like to avoid a sump if it will be too much extra cost.

Just looking some helpful advice and suggestions on where to go from here

Thanks,

Mal11224

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Kimberly, welcome to R2R. Since you are getting your feet wet in this hobby, the filter choice is fine. It will require routine maintenance to properly filter your system. Having RODI will be a plus. It all depends on what you are keeping. If just fish, then you should be fine with what you have nd will not need an expensive light for them. Keeping corals provides a certain challenge and in the long run, after you’ve gotten some experience, you will likely want a system with a sump. It is easier to maintain and provides more stability. Do as much research as you can and there is a ton of information available in this forum as well as expertise.

OP
OP
KimberlyMary

KimberlyMary

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0