Brook or flukes?

NickC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so I have three fish in quarantine, two ocellaris and a tail spot blenny. One of the clowns is showing signs of something, and I’m not sure if it’s early signs of brooklynella or he has flukes. I’ve tried taking pictures but he’s small, and doesn’t pose for the camera very well.

The fish has some white clouding forming on one eye, and definite white on his bottom lip. Symptoms appeared a couple of days ago and are slowly getting worse, yesterday was the first day I was positive he had something.

My question is wether I should treat the qt for flukes with prazi, or dose metro for brook. I’m pretty new to treating fish and would hate to dose the wrong med.

I would rather not do a bath as the other two fish have been exposed (and I’m assuming should be treated prophylactically), and the qt is well cycled so bathing and sterilizing the qt would probably cause ammonia headaches that I’d rather avoid. I’ll be doing a fw dip on the affected fish today to buy a little time.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance

OP
OP
NickC

NickC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can try, but like I said the pictures I’ve taken didn’t really turn out very good. Qt lights come on at 10:00 am.

drstardust

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pics would be helpful for diagnosis. However, if you strongly feel that you've narrowed it down to either brook or flukes, you could treat with both metro and praziquantel. API General Cure conveniently contains both of those medications. A formalin bath would also be a treatment for both conditions, but this is more hardcore and requires that extra care be taken.

OP
OP
NickC

NickC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess I should add that the fish is a little under weight, and is slightly sucked in behind his belly (near anal fin)

Reefahholic

Acropora Farmer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0