Bubble Algae?

Reefing Reefer

If you build it, reefs will come
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Needing some confirmation that this is bubble algae; the bubbles are dark, leaving me wondering if it’s something else. I am treating the tank with vibrant, once per week. No changes since starting 4 weeks ago.

Last water test results:
Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate 0
Phosphates 0.25 ppm
Calcium 400 ppm
Alkalinity 10 dKH
PH 8.0

weekly water changes, dosing calcium and alkaline.

feeding spectrum pellets and reef roids.

DA837D99-8087-4EA3-BF67-174FACB53199.jpeg 582C5614-8272-47D7-8144-0297B5B5907D.jpeg

sunken3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i have never used vibrant before. I would just try and pull those off (maybe vibrant can kill the spores). did you typo your phosphate numbers? cause thats really high.

Idoc

Getting lazier and lazier with upkeep!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, that is bubble algae.

If you can remove the rock, they are pretty easy to pick off. If doing in the tank, you can sometimes get under them and pull them all off in a big piece or two.

lx_Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been dosing 2 time a week a little under recommended dosage and im just about 5 1/2 weeks in and can tell you my BA is turning clear almost 70% gone , I tried emerald crabs and no luck

lx_Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I should probably notate you probably want to over feed as vibrant can bring your nutrients to 0 and then cause what alot of people on here experience cyno from bottoming out nutrients

av8soulfly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use a sharp bamboo skewer to pry them off while using a small syphon hose to suck them out. That way you get all the spores too.

Chrille26

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0