Building a sump!

egilmore

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to having a sump and am going to attempt to build one this weekend! Thought a thread would be good for information on the process! I'm setting up a 50g 30Lx18wx21h mixed tank and the sump will be a 20L! So my questions are regarding drain and intake size, I'm thinking 1" drain and 3/4 return, best place to drill (bottom is tempered so would either be top back or bottom back of tank)! What would be a good, cheap, return pump, baffles, ect. would like to have a refugium in the sump as well!

Wildman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would drill the top back. Gives you more room in the tank. Sluf has built some nice overflows. Your drain and return sizes should be fine. You might consider a second emergency drain in the overflow and run your return over the back of the tank. Do a search for bean animal and stockman (I think) drains. You might me pushing it to get a refugium in the sump unless you did an external return pump. I guess it all depends on what layout you go with and if you include any reactors.

OP
OP
E

egilmore

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So much to consider and so many different opinions that its mind boggling lol I do like the idea of a stockman drain! Thinking maybe 2 drains, refugium on the left, skimmer on the right and return in the middle! just have to figure if is 30" will be enough room! worried I might be pushing it with a ref though!

Engloid

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
do you have the option of a remotely located sump, rather than just under the tank?

I have a refugium in my system. It's about half of a 55g aquarium. Other than adding water volume, I don't think it does much of anything to me. I cant even grow chaeto in it for some reason. However, adding volume is good for water chemistry stability.