Building A Tank... Hopefully

Casket_Case

Frags in the Frathouse
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’d like to build a tank. I’ve never built one before but it looks to be much cheaper then buying one and you get the perks of customization. Is it difficult to do? Is it safe? I’d like to build a glass aquarium with the dimensions below...

Length: 47”
Width: 16”
Height: 15”

I obviously wouldn’t keep it filled to the top so I’d leave around an inch of space between the waterline and brim leaving a rounded 46 gallons of water. I know that shallow tanks are less likely to crack or separate because the weight of water pushing on the sides is much more distributed, is this true?
Also, do tank builders only use silicone to hold together these tanks? Or is there like a resin dip or something further strengthening the tank? I surely don’t want this tank to fall apart.

Dom

Full Time Reef Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
According to the Aquarium water volume calculator on Marine Depot's website, your dimensions come out to be roughly 49 gallons.

I think it would be cheaper to buy a tank from Pet Smart 1 dollar per gallon sale.

Taking into consideration the cost of glass, the silicon and the labor, it's probably better to buy one already made.

OP
OP
Casket_Case

Casket_Case

Frags in the Frathouse
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I left an inch of space between the waterline and the brim of the tank, each inch of the tank is around three gallons. I would buy a tank at the dollar gallon sales but they don’t have shallow tanks with the size I want. I’m wanting to put a large mangrove in the tank so I want it as shallow as possible.

OP
OP
Casket_Case

Casket_Case

Frags in the Frathouse
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0