Buy a new tank tomorrow that still running

813Reefs

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys I’m still new to the hobby I am purchasing a new tank tomorrow that is still up and running looks professionally tooken care of the guy says he pays the local store to come out and take care of it because he is a business man and rarely around was wondering if if I could just put the water that in the tank in gallons and reuse it when I bring it back to my place since it cycled he is giving me all the live stock with the tank and I don’t have no room in my old tank for them just don’t know what to do ?

these are the pictures of the tank

8FE17353-D1A5-45ED-A4C8-096391F2EBEE.jpeg 98D32424-6818-4943-9194-C4496D04C499.jpeg 046E06F8-AC3E-48C3-AD93-F51BE2A23A05.jpeg 5603C264-7B9C-4FBC-883A-0827BB8FA463.jpeg 1ECF9A0A-1812-41F6-9AAA-566D04C8A392.jpeg

Miami Reef

10K Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Note that moving the sand around in a saltwater tank will result in detritus to be released into the water column. Also note that you will most likely lose some water during the moving process.

I say prepare by making some extra saltwater now for any loss that you will have. You can use the same water, just use some filter floss to catch the inevitable detritus that will come out from the sandbed, rocks, and dead spots (low flow areas) once you have the tank running in your home.

OP
OP
813Reefs

813Reefs

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Note that moving the sand in an older tank will result in detritus to be released into the water column. Also note that you will most likely lose some water during the moving process.

I say prepare by making some extra saltwater now. You can use the same water, just use some filter floss to catch the inevitable detritus that will come out from the sandbed and dead spots (low flow areas).