C-Reefer's Journey Into The Dark Side

C-Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys! I'm a new reefer from Knoxville, Tennessee. I have been keeping fish on the freshwater side of things for 3 years now. Started out small with a little 5 gallon GloFish tank, but quickly grew into the aquascaping. I have 2 freshwater planted tanks, one of them a high tech aquascaped tank. However, the fish bug bit again after too many trips to the fish store, and some good friends egging me on, and sneakily looking at some of the threads on here. So I soon realized I wanted a reef. No FOWLR for me, it was the corals that caught my attention. I am on a tight budget, so I slowly gathered equipment with help from my friends. I couldn't have this aquarium without them, they've helped me so much.

Equipment:
- 20 Gallon Long Tank
- Current Marine Orbit USA with Mount
- Jebao SW-2 Wavemaker
- Cobalt Aquatics Neotherm 100 Watt
- 20 lbs Bimini Pink Carib-Sea Arag-Alive Substrate
- 20ish lbs of live rock (don't know what kind, got it free from a friend. Looks really cool though!)
- DIY ATO (in progress)
- AquaClear 50 Modded into Chaeto Fuge
- AquaticLife 4 stage Twist-In RO/DI unit 100 gpd
- Mixing heater/powerhead
- Instant Ocean Reef Crystals
- Salifert Nitrate Test
- API Master test kit FW (used for cycling)
- Refractometer

Livestock:
- Yellow Watchman Goby and Pistol Shrimp Pair
- Occelaris Clown and Designer Misbar Clown Pair
- Colony of brown bodied blue tipped birdsnest
- Big frag of Setosa
- 9 Head Purple/Green Splattered Hammer
- 9 Head Duncan
- Rock full of Agent Orange Zoas
- 3 Polyps of bright orange center zoa
- Polyp of bright orange tentacle purple center zoa
- 2 Polyps of Acan (red, purple, green, yellow)
- Pulsing Xenia
- Green Star Polyps
- 1 Purple Yuma
- Large Green Monti Plate
- Orange Monti Digi frag
- Galaxea
- Green with Purple tip frogspawn
- TG Fruity Loop Mushrooms