Ca++ Calibration Solution

NoFeedback

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am returning to reefkeeping after a period of relative inactivity (didn't do much but keep the tank alive). In the past, monitoring Ca++ concentrations were always part of my routine and I used the Hach test kit to perform this measurement. I replaced the reagents after finding unusually high readings of mid-500 ppm Ca++ with my tank water. Still getting readings of mid-500 ppm! Fish store testing seems more reasonable in the low to mid 400 range (varying logically with BICB dosing). My Hach kit obviously doesn't agree and I never had problems in the past that I noticed with Ca testing using the Hach test kit.

As an amateur chemist, I decided a calibration solution was in order so I mixed 0.41 g of CaCl2.2H2O into 250 ml of distilled water which, in theory, should give me a 450 ppm Ca++ calibration solution. Hach kit read 336 ppm Ca++ with this solution. I always dilute my test sample 50/50 to reduce EDTA use with the Hach kit.

As I said, "amateur chemist". Does anyone have an idea what might be going on with my methods?

Thank you,

Mike

JimWelsh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am returning to reefkeeping after a period of relative inactivity (didn't do much but keep the tank alive). In the past, monitoring Ca++ concentrations were always part of my routine and I used the Hach test kit to perform this measurement. I replaced the reagents after finding unusually high readings of mid-500 ppm Ca++ with my tank water. Still getting readings of mid-500 ppm! Fish store testing seems more reasonable in the low to mid 400 range (varying logically with BICB dosing). My Hach kit obviously doesn't agree and I never had problems in the past that I noticed with Ca testing using the Hach test kit.