Calling all chemists - titration

ZaneTer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning everyone

I am hoping for a detailed explanation about titration tests to determine PO4 levels. I am interested in knowing what chemicals are involved and the process by which the titration is carrried our.
For reference I built an alkalinity tester and controller after one I had bought let me down killing most of my corals. I am an automation engineer and already have most of the required dosing equipment, pumps and pH transmitters that are needed.
Information on nitrate and magnesium titration tests would also be helpful. When completed I will be releasing the plans I have for free to any advanced DIYers out there. PLC and PID knowledge will be required before they start.
Thanks
Zane

JimWelsh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm curious -- which one did you buy that failed you? How did it fail?

PO4 and nitrate tests are not typically titrations -- they are colorimetric, and sensitive to the amount of time since the reagents and sample have been mixed. The PO4 signal is typically very weak, and requires a longer path length than most other tests.

OP
OP
ZaneTer

ZaneTer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm curious -- which one did you buy that failed you? How did it fail?

PO4 and nitrate tests are not typically titrations -- they are colorimetric, and sensitive to the amount of time since the reagents and sample have been mixed. The PO4 signal is typically very weak, and requires a longer path length than most other tests.
Good morning Jim
If you don’t mind I will send you a PM? I will happily explain exactly what happened.

Dennis Cartier

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am also curious about what happened regarding your tester/controller (as mine hums away doing a test). These devices are supposed to bring a new level of safety and reports to the contrary are concerning.