canister vs. hang on back filter

Europa

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is the best filtration system for a 60-gallon tank, canister filter, or hang-on-back filter? I have been using a canister filter on my 60-gallon tank for about 18 months, but the filter recently clogged and the UV light burned. I cleaned the filter and it's working again, but I'm wondering if I should replace it with a new canister or change the filtration system. I've heard HOB filters need to be cleaned less often and are more efficient. Is this correct?

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ditch the canister. I'd recommend a HoB skimmer and filter. I use both. Skimmer for gas exchange and nutrient export. HoB filter for floss, and if needed carbon/chempure

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not a fan of canisters as the best wasy to keep a tank clean is to frequently clean or swap out the filterpad/sock/sponge and canisters make that a pain to do.

It is not true that HOB filters need to be cleaned less often. How often a filter needs to be cleaned is how much it is collecting and how much you want to do water changes (clean the filter pad frequently and be able to cut down on water changes or let food and poo rot in it and do more water changes).

OP
OP
Europa

Europa

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ditch the canister. I'd recommend a HoB skimmer and filter. I use both. Skimmer for gas exchange and nutrient export. HoB filter for floss, and if needed carbon/chempure
Do you have a separate UV Sterilizer? I don't think HOB filters come with a UV light...

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never used one.

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0