Cannot achieve traceable phosphate for love nor money

cdw79

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank is 210 gallons altogether and has been up for about 3 months. I've been checking nitrate and phosphate at 24 hour intervals for several days now. Nitrates remain consistent at about 50, yet phosphates never register- 0.00 on my Hanna checker. I've gone from adding 15, to 20, to 40, to now 75 ml per day of NeoPhos with no difference in my reading come 24 hours later. Tonight I put in 100ml of the stuff and I'm getting to a point where this just seems insane.

I've never had this issue as part of cycling a tank. Definitely still experiencing the ugly stage- dealt with Dinos about a month ago, now I've been getting cyano. I'd let it run its course but for the fact I have some torches I brought over from my previous tank that are struggling. My LFS is suspicious that the Marco Rock I used (which I have never used before) may be absorbing the phosphate I'm adding, but that's the only lead I have.

Am I doing something wrong? The directions on NeoPhos don't actually address what to do if nitrate stays level but phosphates never register, as I understand at least, so I'm kind of at a loss (and ideally would like to avoid spending a fortune on neophos that doesn't seem to be doing anything right now). Any help would be really appreciated

PocketGoose

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dry rock start?

EDIT: Sorry I skimmed over the macro rock part. I’ve dealt with the same thing and even after a year into the tank I’ll still have to add some PO4/NO3 every so often. The first few months were filled with dinos like you mentioned. I was dumping absurd amounts of neophos and nitro into a 14 gallon tank, only to see it hit 0 the next morning. Used macro rock myself

Last edited:

ReefingDreams

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are you using to test phosphates? How many days have you been dosing phosphate?