Chaeto not growing, hair algae starting

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Iam_Mitch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been running the Triton method for a few months now. Everything has been going great. Coral growth and color is fantastic. Last week however, phosphates shot up to 0.1 while nitrates stayed at 0. In turn, hair algae has started to grow quite rapidly (could be consuming all the nitrates). Also, in the last month or so Chaeto has not been growing at all. Not dying either. Just staying the same. It’s about the size of a baseball. Per my last ICP 3 weeks ago phosphates were a little low but Zinc was super high so they recommended 6 water changes. Sometime after my last ICP is when phosphates rose. I have done 3 water changes so far and phosphates are now back down to .01. Any idea on how I can get the chaeto to grow and out compete the hair algae? Refugium is powered by a Kessil H160. 12 hours a day on opposite schedule of DT lighting on the grow setting, almost max power. Any help would be much appreciated!

K7BMG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well it could be to much light and not enough nutriants.

I would start by redusing the Kessel lightings period to 8 hours a day.
Sometimes more light is not a good thing.
What is your iron level, has it reduced over time?

You will need to manually remove as much of the hair algae as possible.

OP
OP
Iam_Mitch

Iam_Mitch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well it could be to much light and not enough nutriants.

I would start by redusing the Kessel lightings period to 8 hours a day.
Sometimes more light is not a good thing.
What is your iron level, has it reduced over time?

You will need to manually remove as much of the hair algae as possible.

So you think it could be too much light on the refugium? Cut back from 12 to 8 hours? Here are the iron results

B97B28E0-C838-4DC9-BA34-E2F46DB5BC28.jpeg

K7BMG