Chaeto put to the test: Going beyond our expectations! (Part 1)

randyBRS

BRStv Host :-)
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys!

Today we're updating you on the Chaetomorpha test that we have been brewing for the last few weeks. What we found about fuge size and PAR really surprised us, so we couldn't just stop there!

As you can tell from the title, we are going to be changing it up with this test and will continue the investigation. So check out this first installment of the Chaeto test and let us know your thoughts!

-Randy

BiggieJohn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using the hang on fuge with cheto for about 6 months now and have been very happy with the nutrient export and algae control.
20G display, 10G sump, I have no fish, and only lightly populated with soft corals, Euphyllia and a Goniopora, but everything seems to be doing well.

Dapperjman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree that this test looks promising, definitely following.

I use a cheap LED bulb over my fuge and I see similar results to the cheap bulb tested. The statement about the fuge light having to compete with the often times high dollar, powerful DT lights makes sense. I'm considering upping my game on the fuge light to see what happens.

MIchael10101

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What about throwing a cheap pump at the end of the fuge that would pump water back to the beginning to effectively increase the contact time?

BSDS5000

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is fantastic! Thank you for putting this together.

Apologies if I missed this but could we know how long the lights are being run for these test?

OP
OP
randyBRS

randyBRS

BRStv Host :-)
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0