Changing salt

Kkuhar

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I have a 125 gallon reef tank. Im thinking of switching from instant ocean to instant ocean reef crystals. Has anyone done that before? Thanks in advance!

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I have a 125 gallon reef tank. Im thinking of switching from instant ocean to instant ocean reef crystals. Has anyone done that before? Thanks in advance!

Why switch?

I prefer normal IO.

That said, I'm sure thousands of people have done it without issue.

saltyfins

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
just curious, why do you want to change?

OP
OP
K

Kkuhar

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you for your replies. I'm fairly new to this. About 8 months in. You all asked a good question. Why? Ro be honest I don't kmow why. It was recommended to me. My corals are showing very little growth. I have began dosing calcium and alk. Was hoping to keep the tank a bit more stable. Maybe if there isn't a benefit may not do it.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you for your replies. I'm fairly new to this. About 8 months in. You all asked a good question. Why? Ro be honest I don't kmow why. It was recommended to me. My corals are showing very little growth. I have began dosing calcium and alk. Was hoping to keep the tank a bit more stable. Maybe if there isn't a benefit may not do it.

IMO, it is not a "better" mix from any important perspective to a reef aquarium, and I do not like to have organic matter such as vitamins in a salt mix (which Reef Crystals does and normal IO does not).

It also seems to form a brown crud that normal IO lacks or has much less of. That may mostly relate to the vitamins, but I am not certain.

bxclent

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0