Help raising DKH

Michael v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My system is about 4 years old. I’m still learning about raising coral. My DKH is between 7.8 to 8 ppm. I tried increasing the amount of water on my weekly water change. My PH has been between 8.4 to 8.6.
I put an air line on my protein skimmer. My tank is 65 gallons with 20 gallon sump. Thinking of changing from reef crystals to instant ocean reef salt. Any suggestions

SaltySqueeble

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I switched to IO purple from reef crystals for the extra alkalinity and my calcium and mag were a little high. The dKH on the Instant Ocean purple is about 11 compared to the IO Reef crystals only 9.5. So that would help raise the alk but calcium and mag are lower so you may need to compensate for those by dosing. Or you could just dose alkalinity to the tank. That all being said, you need to be careful adding alk because your ph is already maxed out. 7.8-8 is just fine and about where my tank. I go for 8-8.1

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My system is about 4 years old. I’m still learning about raising coral. My DKH is between 7.8 to 8 ppm. I tried increasing the amount of water on my weekly water change. My PH has been between 8.4 to 8.6.
I put an air line on my protein skimmer. My tank is 65 gallons with 20 gallon sump. Thinking of changing from reef crystals to instant ocean reef salt. Any suggestions

Why do you want to raise dKH?

twentyleagues

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My first maybe only question is What does a fresh batch of reef crystals test at for you?
Reef crystals usually tests higher in all parameters and most of the time alk is 9-11 dkh. This should be sufficient for a tank just starting with corals for quite some time with regular water changes.
I did have another question! Are you using ro/di water?

Troylee

all about the diy!!!!!
View Badges