Changing substrate, need advice

cid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning R2R, I'm a newb in search of advice.

My family and I were given a 2nd hand Redsea Max 130 2 years ago and it has been a joy for all of us. The previous owner had if for 7, maybe even 8 yrs., also running as a FOWLR. It had been running empty for almost 2yrs. before it found it's way in to our living room. Right now we have a Coral Beauty, a sixline wrasse, a royal gramma, a yellow tail damsel, 3x blue-green chromis, a yellow damsel that I'm not entirely sure what it even is(a tonga damsel maybe?), 6-8 hermit crabs, 2 turbo snails, and 2 peppermint shrimp. The only thing I wish I had done was change the substrate, I hate the crushed coral. Latley we've been thinking about trying our hand at keeping a few corals but before we take the plunge, I want to make the change to sand and could use any tips, or advice.

I've been scooping out some CC with my net every couple of days, while continuously adding new salt water to account for displacement and periodically testing for ph, am, nitrites and nitrates. My plan is, once I get to almost bare bottom, to remove the live rock, live stock and most of the water into buckets and shop vac the last of the cc out. Replace the base of my LR, add new sand and then most of the old water.

bond300

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well Sound like a good plan....I had to transfer all my items from my 75-90G What size is your current tank? I would transfer all my water to the new tank......rock the repeat?

OP
OP
cid

cid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay so, over the past 3 days I've scooped out around 7 to 8 lbs of CC and I have about 30lbs left. Today me test was 7.8,0,0,60. My ph is always right around 8.0 and 60ppm is pretty high for me as far as nitrates go. Should I give it a few days? Or are these parameters acceptable enough to continue?

nazzman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%