Cheato Reactor

HB Fisheye

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been thinking about this way too long so I decided to just do it. I had a biopellet reactor I wasn't using anymore and I thought this should work as a cheato reactor. I bought a Tunze 8821 ecochic white LED and strapped it to the side of the reactor. What do you think? Will this keep the cheato alive?

20171028_105314.jpg

fishbox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert but I think you would have better results with wrap around lights. That light is only lighting one side of the reactor

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can get pretty inexpensive lights on amazon or marine depot has a string that I used on mine. Check out the marine depot video. Macro algaes actually do better with white light in the range around 6500k. Red and blue are better on scrubbers, they grow a different type of algae.

JonCollegeReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with @fishbox, the wrap around led lights are going to be much more effective, plus they're very inexpensive. My set up was super jerry rigged at first: zip-tied a 12 inch bulky Finnex LED on because I had it already, trust me just spend like $15 and the time to do the wrap around leds.

fishbox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can get pretty inexpensive lights on amazon or marine depot has a string that I used on mine. Check out the marine depot video. Macro algaes actually do better with white light in the range around 6500k. Red and blue are better on scrubbers, they grow a different type of algae.
Most of what I've read suggests that people are getting better growth after switching from warm white to red blue .

fishbox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the warm white deom Marine Depot and get great growth out of mine. Harvesting every 2-3 weeks.

177210D2-462E-4F85-92B4-71A5C38C04AE.jpeg