Cleaning a used tank - Citric Acid / Bleach / Vinegar...what should I use for this AIO?

joe-ejs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello.

I just purchased a used 30gl JBJ AIO tank and would like to make sure it is sterilized so to speak as I am not sure of its history. It does seem it may have been a FW tank as there is no Calcium/Coralline anywhere from what I see. With that said, is it best to just fill it with a bleach/water mix and let is sit for 24hrs, or should I wipe it down with Vinegar/water mix and then soak the pumps in a Citric Acid mix? This is my first time buying a used tank. I am read many posts on all 3 popular options, just not sure what is the best option for my situation.

Any feedback would be appreciated...thanks

I just purchased a used 30gl AIO Tank as shown in the picture
IMG_8022.jpg
IMG_8021.jpg
IMG_8019.jpg

Aboynamedsous2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use vinegar and water every time ( I almost never buy a brand new tank) and it works great every time. If there’s dried on algae you can even use baking soda to help remove it.

S2G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pumps use citric acid. I use vinegar or just a lemon on glass

OP
OP
J

joe-ejs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use vinegar and water every time ( I almost never buy a brand new tank) and it works great every time. If there’s dried on algae you can even use baking soda to help remove it.
What ratio of water and vinegar do you use, or are you using straight vinegar?

Devaji

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree vinegar works well for the tank and citric acid for pumps of you got it.
if not vinegar will work too.

as far as ratio goes....its some to some...lol
I have never measured....I would say 1/4 to 1/2 gallon for a 30 gallon tank.